Home Industry News Releases CALF Announces 2023 Profiles in Leadership Award Recipients

CALF Announces 2023 Profiles in Leadership Award Recipients

Randy Fiorini (21)

MONTEREY, Aug. 30, 2023 – The California Agricultural Leadership Foundation (CALF) and the Ag Leadership Alumni Council will honor Randy Fiorini (Class 21) and Michael Frantz (Class 36) with the 2023 Profiles in Leadership Award on Oct. 5 in Fresno. The award recognizes Ag Leadership Program alumni for leadership actions that result in the betterment of industry, community, business, government, education and/or the environment.

“I am thrilled to see our alumni working to create the type of generational impact that is needed in agriculture today,” said CALF Board Chairman Mike Young (35). “Randy and Michael are excellent examples of servant leaders and I applaud them for their efforts in creating innovative solutions and partnerships that make a lasting impact.”

Fiorini was selected as an awardee for his leadership in creating the Delta Stewardship Council (DSC), successful completion of the Delta Plan and continued work to uphold the plan as it went before California’s Superior Court. He lives in Merced County and is owner of Fiorini Ranch and principal owner of Farmco LLC and Fiorini Consulting.

“Receiving word that I had been selected as one of this year’s Ag Leadership Profiles in Leadership Award recipients was quite an honor,” said Fiorini. “Those who offered the nomination know me very well and it is humbling to think that my work in water and water policy rose to this level of appreciation.”

Fiorini is a founding member of the DSC, which was created in 2009 to coordinate and improve state policies affecting the Sacramento-San Joaquin River Delta. As chair, he led the DSC in efforts to seek consensus among stakeholders and state agencies in creating the first-ever Delta Plan as required by the 2009 Delta Reform Act.

Michael Frantz (’36)

Frantz was selected as an awardee for his work in advancement and innovation as a Turlock Irrigation District (TID) board member. He lives in Stanislaus County and is president of Frantz Wholesale Nursery LLC.

“To me, Ag Leadership has always been much larger than just a two-year fellowship; it is an extended family that truly desires good outcomes for all things agriculture,” said Frantz. “To get the call about the award from this organization, one that I care so much about, that was pretty special.”

Frantz’s nominators wrote that since joining the TID board of directors in 2009, he has been a stalwart presence, continuously driving the district toward advancements and innovation in the reliable and cost-effective delivery of water and power.

This year’s recipients will be recognized during a ceremony on Oct. 5 at Fresno State, in conjunction with the Class 53 inauguration. A welcome reception will begin at 5:30 p.m., followed by the award ceremony, inauguration and dinner at 6:30 p.m. The cost to attend is $40 per person. For event and RSVP information, visit agleaders.org/events.


The California Agricultural Leadership Foundation is dedicated to growing leadership in agriculturalists who have the capacity and potential to advance, benefit and promote California agriculture. Since 1970, more than 1,400 California Agricultural Leadership Program fellows have become lifelong leaders who individually and collectively act as a catalyst for a vibrant agricultural community and make a significant difference in the agricultural industry, their businesses, communities and families. Learn more at agleaders.org.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.