Home Industry News Releases Suzanne Groth of Groth Vineyards & Winery Elected Wine Institute Chairman 2021-2022

Suzanne Groth of Groth Vineyards & Winery Elected Wine Institute Chairman 2021-2022


June 9th – SAN FRANCISCO — Suzanne Groth, President and CEO of Groth Vineyards & Winery, headquartered in Oakville, CA, was elected Wine Institute Board Chairman for the 2021-2022 fiscal year at the organization’s 87th Annual Meeting of Members. Other officers elected were Rick Tigner of Jackson Family Wines in Santa Rosa, First Vice Chairman; Randall Lange of LangeTwins Family Vineyards and Winery in Acampo, Second Vice Chairman; Matt Gallo of E. & J. Gallo Winery in Modesto, Treasurer; and Robin Baggett of Alpha Omega Winery in Rutherford and Tolosa Winery in San Luis Obispo, Secretary. Bobby Koch is President and CEO of Wine Institute.

“We California vintners are so fortunate to be growing and producing our iconic wines here in an ideal and diverse climate. Even with the many challenges we face, especially in the last year of unprecedented times, we find golden opportunities,” said Suzanne Groth, Groth Vineyards & Winery President and CEO. “If a vintner’s quest is to grow and make the best wines in the world, there is not a better soil, climate and access to market than California.”

As a second-generation family member of Groth Vineyards & Winery, Groth became President and CEO in 2017. She previously led the family business as Vice President of Sales and Marketing and prior to that worked in wine sales and public relations, for a combined 19 years. Previously, Groth worked for the Henry Wine Group, a California wine distributor where she sold wine to San Francisco restaurants and retailers.

Groth Vineyards & Winery has been a member of Wine Institute since 1984 and Groth has served as a board member since 2014. Groth has also served as President of the Oakville Winegrowers since 2019 and been member of the Board of Directors since 2013.

Wine Institute’s membership also elected new district and at-large directors and alternates. District directors and their alternates were elected on a one-member-one-vote basis in each district, following nominations by regional winery associations. They are:

District Director Alternate Director
Northern Kaj Ahlmann
Six Sigma Winery
John Kane
Fetzer Vineyards


Julie Pedroncelli St. John
J. Pedroncelli WineryKatie Wetzel Murphy
Alexander Valley VineyardsTobin Ginter
Rodney Strong Vineyards

Steven MacRostie
MacRostie Winery & Vineyards

Ana Keller
Keller EstateAlan Ramey
Ramey Wine CellarsChristopher Lloyd
Senses Wine

James Perry
Sonoma-Cutrer Vineyards

Napa Suzanne Groth
Groth Vineyards & WineryHugh Davies
Schramsberg VineyardsDennis Cakebread
Cakebread Cellars

Robin Baggett
Alpha Omega Winery
Tolosa Winery

Mike Reynolds
HALL Wines

Delia Viader
Viader Vineyards & WineryMichael Maher
Harlan EstateChris Hall
Long Meadow Ranch Winery

Amelia Morán Ceja
Ceja Vineyards

Paul Leary
Palmaz Vineyards

San Francisco Bay Amanda Kent
Darcie Kent Vineyards
William Cooper
Cooper-Garrod Estate Vineyards
Monterey Bay Scott Scheid
Scheid Vineyards
Central Coast Nicholas Miller
Miller Family Wine CompanyLaura Booras
Riverbench Vineyard & WineryGretchen Roddick
Hope Family Wines

Gary Eberle
Eberle Winery

Maeve Pesquera
DAOU Vineyards & WineryKaren Steinwachs
Buttonwood Farm WineryClarence Chia
Justin Vineyards & Winery


Southern California Steve Kahle
Woof’n Rose Winery
Linda McWilliams
San Pasqual Winery
Sierra Steve Millier
Milliaire Winery
Stuart Mast
Brice Station Vintners
Randall Lange
LangeTwins Family Vineyards and Winery
David Phillips
Michael-David Winery
Kyle W. Ray
ASV Wines
John Allbaugh
Bronco Wine Company

All members elected 20 at-large directors who had been nominated by the Institute’s Finance and Administration Committee. Alternates were chosen by at-large directors. 

At-large Director


Corey Beck
Francis Ford Coppola Presents

Ken Minami
Francis Ford Coppola Presents

Giancarlo Bianchetti
Fetzer Vineyards

Erik Olsen
Fetzer Vineyards

James E. Coleman
E. & J. Gallo Winery

To be announced

Matt Deegan
Constellation Brands, Inc.

Sam Glaetzer
Constellation Brands, Inc.

Ben Dollard
Treasury Wine Estates

Debra Dommen
Treasury Wine Estates

Michael Drobnick
O’Neill Vintners & Distillers

Matthew Towers
O’Neill Vintners & Distillers

Jeffrey Dubiel
The Wine Group

Keith Bauman
The Wine Group

Matthew J. Gallo
E. & J. Gallo Winery

Stephanie Gallo
E. & J. Gallo Winery

Cate Hardy
The Wine Group

Amy Hoopes
The Wine Group

Cheryl Indelicato
Delicato Family Wines

Mark Merrion
Delicato Family Wines

Peter N. Larson
Trinchero Family Estates

Roger J. Trinchero
Trinchero Family Estates

Daniel Leonard
Bronco Wine Company

Chris Mifsud
Bronco Wine Company

Lawrence T. Lohr
J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines

Jeff Humphreys
J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines

Alex Ryan
Duckhorn Wine Company

Sean Sullivan
Duckhorn Wine Company

Viviann Stapp
Jackson Family Wines

Carolyn Wasem
Jackson Family Wines

Rick Tigner
Jackson Family Wines

Katie Jackson
Jackson Family Wines

Robert R. Torkelson
Trinchero Family Estates

Anthony Torres
Trinchero Family Estates

Michael Walker
Constellation Brands, Inc.

Tiffanie De Liberty
Constellation Brands, Inc.

Christine Wente
Wente Family Estates

Aly Wente
Wente Family Estates

Jolene Yee
Delicato Family Wines

Kathleen Mayhew
Delicato Family Wines

Wine Institute is the public policy advocacy group of more than 1,000 California wineries and affiliated businesses, working at the state, national and international levels. Based in San Francisco, with offices in Sacramento, Washington, D.C., six regions across the U.S. and 13 foreign countries, Wine Institute is guided by 80 vintners who are members and alternates on an active board of directors. The board elects the Chairman and officers on an annual basis.

NeuroTags ad
Previous articleVirginia Artist Wins 2021 Georges Duboeuf Beaujolais Nouveau Artist Label Competition
Next articleOliver’s Stoneboat Vineyards Acquired by Verhoeff Family


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.