Home Industry News Releases Artisti per Frescobaldi Prize: Artists and Jury Members of the 5th Edition...

Artisti per Frescobaldi Prize: Artists and Jury Members of the 5th Edition Announced


New York, NY, January 22nd, 2020 – Canadian Andrew Dadson, American Erica Mahinay, and Italian Gian Maria Tosatti were named today as the three artists invited to participate in the fifth edition of Artisti per Frescobaldi, the biennial prize for contemporary art created and directed by Tiziana Frescobaldi, Artistic Director and President of Compagnia de’ Frescobaldi, and curated by art expert Ludovico Pratesi.

The artists, all under 40, were commissioned to create artwork that would interpret the spirit, history, and terroir of CastelGiocondo, the Frescobaldi wine estate located in Montalcino, which they visited in 2019. Each artist will also create a sketch based on that artwork, which will then appear on the front label of a limited edition of Castelgiocondo Brunello 2015 magnums, the vintage dedicated to Artisti per Frescobaldi.

Also announced were the members of the jury who will select the final winner: Patrizia Sandretto Re Rebaudengo, President of the Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo; Ralph Rugoff, Director of the Hayward Gallery of London; and Rina Carvajal, Director and Curator of the Museum of Art and Design, Miami Dade College.

The awards ceremony will take place on September 24, 2020 in Milan.

“For this fifth edition of Artisti per Frescobaldi,” commented Tiziana Frescobaldi, Artistic Director and President of Compagnia de’ Frescobaldi, “I am most grateful to Patrizia Sandretto Re Baudengo, Ralph Rugoff, and Rina Carvajal who have agreed to jury the prize; as internationally-esteemed museum directors, they will add lustre to this prize. I am grateful as well to the three artists who accepted our invitation and who are each creating superb works of art inspired by the world of wine in general and by CastelGiocondo in particular. I could not have hoped for finer results.”

“The artists invited to the fifth edition belong to the same generation, all born in the 1980s, but they express themselves differently,” explained Prize Curator Ludovico Pratesi. “Andrew Dadson focuses above all on photography, largely landscape-themed, while Erica Mahinay explores the relationship between the body and painting, and Gian Maria Tosatti creates incredibly-striking outdoor installations that are densely symbolic. I have no doubt that they will brilliantly succeed in interpreting the CastelGiocondo estate in an eloquent manner.”

About Artisti per Frescobaldi

Artisti per Frescobaldi showcases artists of the most recent generations, who interpret a contemporary world that is so often complex and protean. The Frescobaldi family, throughout its 800-year history of winemaking, has always shown a vivid interest and involvement in contemporary art and, in our own times, a personal commitment to the art and artists of the 21st century. The Prize thus continues the Frescobaldis’ centuries-old tradition of art patronage and at the same time opens a fresh chapter written by new figures in novel expressive languages.

In its inaugural edition in 2012, the Prize went to three Italians (Elisa Sighicelli, Giovanni Ozzola, and Ra Di Martino), then travelled to Berlin in 2014 to honour the artistic endeavours of Michael Sailstorfer, Jorinde Voigt, and Yuri Ancarani, and to the United States in 2016 to pay tribute to Eric Wesley, Mattew Brannon, and Patrizio Di Massimo. The most recent edition, in 2018, focused on Switzerland’s Sonia Kacem, Claudia Comte, and Francesco Arena.

All 12 works currently grace the walls of CastelGiocondo, set in a unique and enticing dialogue with the estate’s genius loci, a collection looking towards the future, enriching the spaces of the wine cellar in a marriage between art and wine that seems stronger and more successful as it grows.

Previous articleInternational Wineries for Climate Action Welcomes New Applicant Members in Mission to Decarbonize Global Wine Industry
Next articleWSET Celebrates Record Number of Diploma Graduates at Annual Awards Ceremony


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.