Home Industry News Releases Wine Scholar Guild 15th Anniversary Events

Wine Scholar Guild 15th Anniversary Events

132
0
Advertisement

The Wine Scholar™ Challenge: A Global Competition Celebrating WSG’s 15th Anniversary & the Wine Scholar™ Fab 15: A Power Tasting of the Best of France, Italy, and Spain

Over the course of 15 years, the Wine Scholar Guild (WSG) has enabled committed students of wine to expand beyond general wine knowledge curricula and specialize in the three leading wine producing countries in the world: France, Italy, and Spain.

Acclaimed for the academic rigor of its programs, student-centric approach, and pioneering innovations in online wine education, WSG has become the leading provider of specialized wine certification programs and represents a community of thousands of wine scholars from all continents.

In celebration of its 15th anniversary, the Wine Scholar Guild and its network of program providers in over 30 countries, will invite students of wine to compete in a local wine knowledge competition for fun, prizes, and bragging rights… and to qualify for a global Finale.

This competition is formatted as an “Options Game” for each of the three WSG focus countries. In brief, an “options game” consists of a series of questions with two possible answers or “options.” These questions are verbally delivered to wine students in a group setting (be it online or in person). Participants are then asked to pick one of the two options provided. Those who choose correctly continue to participate.  Those who choose incorrectly are no longer in the game. 

Local winners will receive a one-year WSG membership (or membership extension). The local winners will then move on to compete in the Global Options Game Finale hosted by WSG on October 29th at 7:00am PT, 10:00am ET, 3:00pm UK, 10:00pm Hong Kong. The winner of the Finale will receive a 2021 WSG Wine Study Immersion Trip of his/her choice to France, Italy or Spain (airfare is not included. Trip value is approximately USD$4,000.00, depending on the destination.)

The second 15th anniversary celebratory event involves wine.

WSG program providers will host a “Wine Scholar-Fab 15” tasting event (where proper social distancing and safety allows).  This fifteen-wine showcase is designed to celebrate fifteen years of specialized wine education! Five wines from each of the three WSG focus countries will be served—each representing the quintessential expression of craftsmanship and terroir. 

About the Wine Scholar Guild:

The Wine Scholar Guild (www.winescholarguild.org) is the leading provider of specialized certification programs on the wines of France, Italy and Spain; these courses were developed for the professional development of wine industry members and committed students of wine.

Advertisement

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.