Home Industry News Releases Call for Nominations : California Association of Winegrape Growers 2024 Awards of...

Call for Nominations : California Association of Winegrape Growers 2024 Awards of Excellence


SACRAMENTO, APRIL 10, 2023 – The California Association of Winegrape Growers (CAWG) announced that nominations are now open for its 2024 Awards of Excellence Program.  

The Awards of Excellence Program honors CAWG members who have distinguished themselves within the winegrape industry and have benefited the broader community of winegrape growers through exemplary leadership and outstanding commitment to the industry’s well-being, California communities, and the  environment.  

The Grower of the Year Award is the highest honor given by CAWG. It is bestowed upon an individual, family, or company representing an outstanding example of excellence in viticulture and management. The recipient is an efficient and successful producer of quality winegrapes and is recognized for innovation and leadership within  the industry. 

Previous Grower of the Year Award winners include: John Kautz, John Kautz family; Steve McIntyre, Monterey Pacific; Andy Beckstoffer, Beckstoffer Vineyards; The Ledbetter Family; Jerry and Bruce Fry, Mohr-Fry Ranches; Brad & Randy Lange, LangeTwins Family Winery & Vineyards, Steve Schafer, Schafer Vineyards; Andy Hoxsey, Napa Wine Company/Yount Mill Vineyards; The Bogle Family, Bogle Vineyards; and Dana Merrill, Mesa Vineyard Management. 

The Leader of the Year Award recognizes an individual whose record of exceptional leadership has benefited California’s wine industry and who is an inspiration to others. The recipient has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to issues of significant importance to winegrape growers and has achieved lasting changes to promote and protect the interests of California winegrape growers. This leadership can include successful and effective representation of industry interests before local, state, or federal government policymakers. 

Previous Leader of the Year Award winners include: Nat DiBuduo, Allied Grape Growers; Ben Drake, Drake Enterprises; Richard Keehn; Volker Eisele, Volker Eisele Family Estate; Richard Smith, Smith Family Wines; Al  Scheid, Scheid Vineyards; Karissa Kruse, Sonoma Winegrowers; Brad Goehring, Goehring Vineyards, Inc; Dr. Anita Oberholster, UC Davis; and Jeanne Malitz, Malitzlaw, Inc. 

Awardees will be recognized during a special reception held on January 23, 2024, on opening night of the Unified Wine and Grape Symposium.  

Nominations are due June 9, 2023. Applications are available at cawg.org.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.