Home Industry News Releases ASEV Awards 25 Students with $108,000 in Scholarships

ASEV Awards 25 Students with $108,000 in Scholarships


DAVIS, Calif., June 30, 2022…The American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV) awarded 25 scholarship recipients $108,000 in financial support so that they can pursue scientific research and advancement in enology or viticulture.

“As in past years, the 2022 applications were truly inspiring. The innovation, creativity, and sheer breadth of research they represent makes it clear that these future leaders will push our industry to new and unexpected places. As a past recipient, I know how helpful scholarships can be, and I’m happy to play a small part in supporting these students,” says Anna Katherine Mansfield, Associate Professor at Cornell University and ASEV Scholarship Committee Chair.

One notable recipient, Bernadette Gagnier of Washington State University, Prosser, received the ASEV Presidents’ Award for Scholarship in Viticulture, ASEV’s top scholarship. Gagnier was awarded $12,500 for exceeding expectations of the traditional ASEV scholarship program as well as demonstrating her leadership capacity.

Twenty-four additional students from the United States and Canada were awarded the traditional scholarships to support their academic pursuit in enology or viticulture. The following students received scholarships (photos are available on the website):

  • Jonathan Brumley – Washington State University, Pullman
  • Hannah Charnock – Brock University, Canada (ASEV Dennis Martin Scholarship Recipient)
  • Pierre Davadant – Washington State University, Prosser
  • Geraldine Diverres – Washington State University, Prosser
  • Lindsay Garcia – Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Jared Hrycan – University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Cassandra Hutcheson – Texas A&M University, College Station
  • Angelica de Castro Iobbi – Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Glycine Jiang – Cornell University, New York
  • Venkateswara Rao Kadium – North Dakota State University, Fargo
  • Mathew Lange – Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Chase Lucas – Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • April Mahovlic – University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Lauren Marigliano – University of California, Davis (ASEV James Wolpert Scholarship Recipient)
  • Alexa McDaniel – Washington State University, Prosser
  • Portiaa-Anne McGonigal – University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Ramesh Pilli – North Dakota State University, Fargo
  • Tajbir Raihan – University of Kentucky, Lexington
  • Jeremy Schuster – Oregon State University, Corvallis
  • Gabriela Sinclair – University of California, Davis
  • Kaylah Vasquez – California State University, Fresno
  • Hongrui Wang – Cornell University, New York (ASEV Michael Vail Scholarship Recipient)
  • Nicholas Wendrick – University of Florida, Gainesville
  • Nikolas Wilson – University of British Columbia, Canada

The ASEV Scholarship Committee includes Chair Anna Katharine Mansfield from Cornell AgriTech in New York; Torey Arvik from Jackson Family Wines in California; Howard Bursen from Sharpe Hill Vineyards in Connecticut; Jeri Hoover from Koppert Biological Systems in California; Thayne Montague from Texas Tech University, Lubbock; Jennifer Russo from Cornell Lake Erie Research Extension Laboratory, New York; Joe Shirley from Trinchero Family Estates; Katelyn Van Winkle from Schramsberg Vineyards in California; and Yun Zhang from Ste. Michelle Wine Estates, Washington.

For more information about the ASEV scholarship programs, visit asev.org/scholarship-programs. Scholarship applications are accepted by March 1 annually.

Founded in 1950 by a group of researchers and winemakers, ASEV is dedicated to the interests of enologists, viticulturists and others in the fields of wine and grape research and production throughout the world.  For more information, visit www.asev.org.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.