Home Industry News Releases Dan Berger International Wine Competition Announce Winners

Dan Berger International Wine Competition Announce Winners


Santa Rosa, CA—Jeff Runquist Wines, a fast-improving wine company located in Plymouth, Calif., has won the trophy for Winery of the Year at the 2017 Dan Berger’s International Wine Competition, beating out larger wine companies with a startling series of successes.

Runquist entered 27 wines in the 36th annual event, and the 32 international judges rewarded him with 24 medals –19 of them silver and gold medals! Eight Runquist wines earned golds or double-golds.

The award for Small Winery of the Year was a tie between La Frenz of British Columbia, which has won the same trophy twice before, and Carol Shelton Wines of Sonoma County.

This year, La Frenz achieved the stunning result of winning 17 medals from 19 submissions, including four gold and nine silvers. Shelton entered 12 wines and earned 11 awards — nine of them either gold or silver.

The Terroir trophy for best winery from a remote area also was a tie between Coyote Moon of Clayton, N.Y., and Grape Creek Vineyards of Fredericksburg, Texas. Coyote Moon entered 19 wines and earned 17 medals; Grape Creek entered 17 wines and won 14 medals. Each winery is a pioneer in their home growing areas.

Coyote Moon is located on the St. Lawrence River at the Canadian border. Grape Creek is located in the Texas Hill Country, not far from Austin. Sutter Home Winery, part of the Trinchero Family of wineries, was named Value Winery of the Year, an award the Napa Valley-based winery has won six previous times!

The trophy for Imported Wine Company of the Year went to Banfi Vintners,  the New York-based importer of many exceptional Italian wines. As in the past, four great Rieslings won trophies that are jointly sponsored by Dan Berger’s International Wine Competition and the International Riesling Foundation.

The trophy for Best Dry Riesling went to 2015 Sheldrake Point, Finger Lakes ($15). The trophy for best medium dry Riesling went to 2015 Hillersden, Marlborough, New Zealand ($15). The trophy for best medium sweet Riesling went to 2015 Wagner Riesling, Finger Lakes “Semi-Dry” ($15), and best Sweet Riesling trophy went to 2016 Glenora Late Harvest, Finger Lakes, “Scott William” ($30).

Sweepstakes Awards:

  • Sparkling Wine: NV Gloria Ferrer Blanc de Noirs, Carneros ($22).
  • White Wine: 2015 Hillersden, Marlborough, New Zealand ($15).
  • Rosé: 2016 Alexander Valley Vineyards Dry Rosé of Sangiovese, Alexander Valley ($15).
  • Red Wine: 2014 Lawer Family Estates Cabernet Sauvignon, Napa Valley  ($64).
  • Dessert: 2015 Ferrante Winery Vidal, Grand River Valley, “Frozen Criogenically” ($30).

Complete results are available at www.DBIWC.com as well as www.enofileonline.com.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.